Whispers in the Night Part 1: Overcoming Lies With Truth

I am starting with the end of the story first. Because sometimes the end needs to be to told at the start. So this; Part 1, is actually Part 2. Make sense?

It is cold, dark, and raining. My shoulders are hunched, I clutch an umbrella in my hand and step through rivers of water running down the dark alley.

The feeling of overwhelming fear, of frustration, of darkness, weighs heavily on my heart.

My heart is pounding the way the water pounds the pavement around me as heaven pours out over the city of Amsterdam.

And there, in the dark, it comes. A whisper in the night. Words like an embrace, forcing their way through all the fears and wrapping warm, soothing arms around my cold body.

The whipers remind me of all I subscribe my life to:

“The thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy, but I have come that they may have life, and life to the fullest.”

“For we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed…”

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, a spirit of love, and a sound mind.”

These words start in the deep, but as they circulate, they begin to grow wings, forming thoughts that override the tape that has been running through my mind. Thoughts that trickle like medicine into the unwell places of my heart:

“There are those who try to steal your joy. There are those who make you feel that your worth is based on your goodness. There are those who will make you feel dirty, or unlovable, who will ask you to hide all that personality, and laughter, and beauty under a shroud of mourning.

But before you were even a thought, before you were even conceived, there was one who was designing each intricate bit of the elaborate work that is you.

Beautiful, thought of, designed.

There is nothing that can be done to you,

no words that can be said to you,

no looks that can be given,

nothing that can take away from the deep intrinsic value assigned to you.

Your past does not dictate your future — for I know the plans I have for you.

Suddenly as it came, the rain stops, and the skies clear, the moon shines bright, and a warm wind blows. I lower the umbrella. My shoulders back, my head held high.

The truth has stepped in.

“The Lord is my light and my salvation — whom shall I fear?”

Comments
7 Responses to “Whispers in the Night Part 1: Overcoming Lies With Truth”
  1. Sandy says:

    Absolutely beautiful….

  2. Brandi Lea says:

    Either write part 2 soon….or let’s skype again. I want to hear the rest of this story!!!

  3. I really like it whenever people come together and share views.

    Great blog, stick with it!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] as I posted in part 1, it took a divine encounter while walking in the rain and the words of truth whispered to me in the […]



Leave a Reply

  • Categories

