Fast For Freedom Day 32 – Do Unto Others #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.

Wow, another week has flown by. I seriously wake up at the end of each week wondering where the time has gone.

If you missed it, at Not For Sale Amsterdam we launched HOME soup this week and successfully delivered 60 soups to women working behind the windows. You can read all about it, and watch a video from the launch here: Historic Day for Not For Sale Amsterdam

Today’s verse from the Fast For Freedom devotion is simple: “So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.” Matthew 17:12

So often we are caught thinking of ourselves, but I know that a theme for me during this devotion has been to think of how I can serve and love others. It is a challenge when we are caught up in the busyness of the day-to-day; work, friends, cleaning the house, yet somewhere in the mundane our lives can become extraordinary when we look at our simple tasks, and in everything, do unto others what you would have them do to you.

I love that lent has been a challenge for me. I love that it has broken me out of my typical style of devotion, it has caused me to put aside some of my own comforts in order to think of those trapped in slavery around the world. I also love that God shows up, in our personal lives, and in the lives of those enslaved. I keep thinking of the place I was at 32 days ago when I started this journey. I had a lot of turmoil in my personal life, but through actively taking time to pray and give my worries over to God, I have found so much peace. And the challenge for me continues to centre around those simple scriptures of loving others, serving others, doing unto others as I would have them do to me. Simple words, difficult application, but with results that are of immeasurable worth.

 

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

