Fast For Freedom Day 27 – Break our hearts #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.

Today’s devotion in the fast for freedom centres around Psalm 82.

For some reason it was a difficult passage for me to read. A call to those who are unjust to rise up and defend the weak. It talks about how those unjust rulers or lesser ‘gods’ who walk in darkness and who will eventually die like mere mortals, “you will fall like every other ruler.” It reminds us that God will be the final judge over the earth.

The gospel of Jesus for me is something surrounded by love, grace, and acceptance. These are all truths. But there is another aspect, the reason we need Jesus. The judgement of a Holy God. Without judgement, without God’s final truth, there is no accountability for the evil in this world. There is no way to atone for all the awful things that human beings do to one another. There needs to be judgement for those who partake in the trafficking and exploitation of human beings. There needs to be judgement for those rulers who commit such heinous crimes against humanity. But that means there also needs to be judgement for the sins that I have committed. It is only the realisation that I am sinful and have hurt others that allows me to fully appreciate the beauty of Jesus’ sacrifice, the depth of His love, the overwhelming covering of His grace, and the eternal acceptance I can experience through His blood. Just like light is always brightest next to darkness, so the love of Jesus stands that much more glorious next to the destruction humans create. There must be a just God for me to have hope that there is any atonement for the suffering of individuals. It is hard to consider God’s judgement and yet, it is vital.

The prayer at the end of today’s devotion asks that God would break our hearts for what breaks His. I always struggle with this idea. I know the weight of pain I have caused others, but I can’t imagine multiplying that pain anymore. My heart has been broken for human trafficking, and at some point I have had to harden it in order to be effective. When I actually stop and ask God to break my heart for what breaks His, it is almost scary to think what could happen. So today my prayer is that my heart would be broken, but that He would also be the one to heal it, I can’t operate with a heart that is crazy broken, but maybe with a glimpse. Enough to keep me soft and sensitive, but not so much that it is left in shambles.

Thoughts?

P.S. IF you are praying along with Passion268’s 72 Days for Freedom – Today they are praying for Vancouver! Please take the time to include Vancouver in your prayers. Passion Vancouver is happening tonight, and I am excited to see how a generation of young people from my own area can be mobilised to make a difference with the issue of human trafficking.

If you are from Canada and want to take action check out this video from Tara Teng and consider taking writing to the our local leaders about the role they can play in ending slavery:

Comments
One Response to “Fast For Freedom Day 27 – Break our hearts #IWFF”
  1. Jen says:

    I have been reflecting on that state of brokenheartedness. I am reminded of verses in the Word that points to sharing in His suffering, and to be His hands and feet ministering to a broken world. As I walk my own journey and passion for human trafficking, I too would say I have “had to harden my heart in order to be effective”. But I am also conscious of it turning into a wall of stone becoming impenetrable to the work of the Spirit. It is a tension we live out, to find His strength in our deepest of weaknesses, our heart, and to know that when we ask Him to break our heart for what breaks His, He WILL be faithful in healing it with a wholeness we could never have imagined.

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

