Fast For Freedom Day 14 – International Women's Day #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.

Wow, 14 days into the Fast For Freedom. I haven’t calculated how much money I have been able to put aside in the last two weeks through fasting, but I am pretty excited about what I see happening.

What I have learned in the last two weeks is that fasting is a challenge. It takes discipline. It can be discouraging and sometimes inconvenient. But even more than that I have learned that nothing worth doing comes easy. If I want to see change I cannot allow discouraging moments to stop me from moving forward and staying committed. And I have realised that inconvenience is not always a bad thing. Doing this Fast For Freedom has daily given me reason to pause and consider the bigger picture of addressing injustice, and it has daily given me the opportunity to marvel at God’s goodness. I can see that my passion for justice is just a tiny (and slightly distorted) reflection of His great, powerful, and loving heart for every individual. Wow. Inconvenience is actually an honour when we put it into the bigger perspective of being just one small part of the movement for freedom.

Speaking of bigger perspectives, today is International Women’s Day. I love the idea of taking one day to celebrate women around the world. A day to be inspired by those leaders who have gone before us. A day to be reminded of the plight of thousands of women who still suffer for lack of opportunities, health, safety, and freedom.

Image

I dressed up pretty today, because sometimes it is good to just celebrate being a woman. While at work, I got to spend time in the presence of a woman I highly respect while we worked alongside one another to bring freedom to those women who are often forgotten. 

Just like I feel honoured to take part in the Fast For Freedom, I also realised today that I am so honoured to be a part of taking action on behalf of exploited women. 

I asked my friends on Facebook to name a woman (or several) whom they find inspirational. Names of celebrities, women of the past, sisters, mothers, daughters, and those serving the poor were all mentioned. It was cool to hear what others look for when it comes to inspiration. I was asked who my inspiration was, and honestly, I have no idea if I could mention just one amazing woman. So here’s to the many, some near and some far, who are making a difference, who are blessing those around them, and who are living lives full of compassion and empathy. To all the women in my life who have encouraged me and supported me, today is for you!

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

