Fast For Freedom Day 12 – Love #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.’

“‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘love your neighbour as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

I remember the first time I read this verse, and got it. Everything summed up in love.

Often when people ask about being a Christian, my response is, ‘it’s hard.’

Hard, not because it’s a list of rules, not because it’s about the do’s and don’ts.

Hard because it is simple, and it has a lot more to do with my heart than with the things people see on the outside.

Hard because I have to lay down my pride, and often my right to be justified, my right to be right.

Hard because it is summed up in loving God and loving others.

But it is beautiful and it is rewarding.

Today, I am sitting here asking myself, “what would it look like if I really loved God with everything I have. With all my heart, all my soul, and all my mind? What would it look like if I loved my neighbour as I loved myself?”

That is the beauty of the Christian walk. Love. Something so simple and yet so difficult.

When I walk through the red light district, I am reminded of how far removed society can be from what love really looks like. We know what it means to satisfy ourselves. We know how to seek pleasure and how to live for the moment. But we do not know how to love.

Imagine if we took to heart the root of Jesus’s message. Imagine if we really followed what he asked of us.

Imagine if we really lived out love.

There wouldn’t be any slavery, abuse, or exploitation.

This is the beauty of the Christian walk, it is what we are all called to do.

It is our challenge.

In love and solidarity.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

