Fast For Freedom Day 7 – Who is my neighbour? #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.

I always want to think that I am a loving person, but there are always limits to my love.

This convicting first paragraph from today’s devotion puts my limits back into perspective:

“We all want guidelines, definitions, or formulas to ensure that we don’t miss the steps to success, even in faithful acts.  Yet Jesus’ answer broadens our perspective.  He tells us that love is not about narrow definitions of people to whom we owe neighborly conduct (or not) but rather about acting like a neighbor — to anyone God puts in our path or places on our heart.”

In our society there are those we value; those who are beautiful, wealthy, famous, or easy to love.

Then there are those we don’t put a high value on; the weak and vulnerable, the sick and mentally ill, the unattractive, the poor, the dirty, the ones who are hard to love.

I often think I am pretty good at loving those who are ‘less valuable’ by societies standards, and yet it is usually the moment I think that I have got it, that a situation crosses my path and I am stretch again.

I remember so clearly a few months ago, there was a ‘hard to love’ kid in my life, and I, thinking I was so spiritual, made an effort to connect with him. This little punk-ass kid who was too cool. At the same time there was a girl who was really lonely and needy, she needed someone to give her the time of day, but I couldn’t be bothered because I was being such a good Christian to someone else.

I don’t know if this story is really making sense, but the point is, I was choosing someone who looked ‘hard to love’ on the outside, because it made me look good to other people, vs actually loving the girl next to me, who nobody would think any higher of me if I went out of my way to be kind to her. I realised what I was doing about half way through my day, and then I was wrecked by my own pride and selfishness.

Who is my neighbour?

Human trafficking is no different. I see sometimes as society we look for the ‘ideal’ victims to help. I once saw a drug rehab for young adults turn a women away because, “She won’t look nice to the funders, she is too old, they want to help young people.” I was horrified, but I also have to realise we are all capable of ‘choosing’ the convenient neighbour vs actually loving those who are brought into our path, whether they are easy to love or hard to love. Whether or not anyone applauds us or thanks us at the end of the day. We are simply called to step out and love. It is not up to me to decide who is worthy of my love.

Today’s devotion ends with the inspiring words of Mother Theresa:

“When you look at the inner workings of electrical things, you see wires. Until the current passes through them, there will be no light. That wire is you and me. The current is God. We have the power to let the current pass through us, use us, to produce the light of the world, Jesus, in us. Or we can refuse to be used and allow darkness to spread.”  — Mother Teresa

—–

Show love to your global neighbour today, whether in word or deed.

One easy starting point would be to buy a Free2Rock t-shirt – proceeds go to help create new futures for survivors of human trafficking!

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

