Fast For Freedom Day 6 – Beautiful Feet #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.

So yesterday I totally caved on one of the aspects that I am fasting.

Day 6. So much for spiritual discipline.

Last night I knelt by my bed, and for the first time in days poured my heart out to God. Admitting that even when I try, I don’t quite reach the goal. Confessing that in my strongest moment I am weak. Whether it is showing love to others, or giving up certain pleasures in life for a season, I always, always, always, need God.

I really didn’t want to admit out loud that I already failed my 40 days, but it’s real!

Of course there was a little part of me that thought, ‘oh well, now I should just stop fasting everything since I obviously am a terribly undisciplined person.’ Part of me laughed so hard I almost cried when I realised that I had messed up, and part of me felt so disappointed.

Coming back to the moment kneeling by my bed, I sat with the book of Isaiah open in front of me.

I will take just a few excerpts from Is. 52 which encouraged me…

“Shake off your dust, rise up, sit enthroned, O Jerusalem. Free yourself from the chains on your neck, O Captive daughter of Zion.

… How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring good news, who proclaim peace, who bring good tidings, who proclaim salvation.

… Burst into songs of joy together you ruins of Jerusalem, for the Lord has comforted His people, He has redeemed Jerusalem.”

Yesterday I was so tired when I first sat to do the devotion, I actually read Tuesday’s instead of Monday. This morning I am wide awake and only now realising I read the wrong thing. Going back to Monday’s I had to smile.

To do what is right and just is more acceptable to the Lord than sacrifice.” Proverbs 21:3

Yes, Thank-you God! Yes sacrifice is good, yes it is important, yes it is a part of our spiritual walk, and no I won’t stop fasting because I ‘messed up’.

But doing what is right and just is more acceptable. It is good for me to fast, but what is it worth if I don’t use this time of sacrifice to focus on doing those things that are right.

What does it mean to do what is right and just? Model our lives after Jesus Christ, whose mandate was “to proclaim good news to the poor, to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free, and to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour.” 

Like the above verses from Isaiah, beautiful feet are carrying a proclamation of hope. As we study the life of Jesus, we see a life intertwined with His carries a proclamation of freedom and good news. As I recognised last night on my knees in front of the Lord, there is little I can do on my own but surrender. Sacrifice is not about what people see on the outside, but the work that God is doing in my heart, and the change it brings. This change; a lifestyle of doing what is right and just.

So yes, I am a terrible ‘faster’, but I won’t give up! I will shake off the dust and rise up, I will commit to having beautiful feet, proclaiming freedom and favour, doing what is right and just, and I will humbly admit that on my own, it is impossible for me to live any of this, but God’s grace is sufficient, and where I am weak, He is strong.

——

Get Practical:

The guys at Passion launched 72 days for Freedom on Freedom Sunday. Check out the website: http://www.72daysforfreedom.com/ and engage in some of the great steps they have given. The church is taking a stand around the globe!

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

