Fast For Freedom Day 2 – Great Hope #IWFF

This season of lent, follow along with the Fast For Freedom. Participate by sharing, praying, fasting, or giving to raise awareness about global slavery. Download the 40 day devotional for free here. Share your own thoughts and prayers in the comments, and be challenged to take action in the movement for Freedom.

“There is no room for anything but hope when we realize all that God is, all God does, all God can do.”

– Kevin Austin, Fast For Freedom Day 2

Today’s psalm speaks a blessing over those who walk in the light of God’s presence. What stood out to me was the line, “For you are their glory and strength…”

Part of my fast has been to give up some of my comforts, and today I really feel it (and it’s only day 2)! It has made me realise how quickly I run to draw my strength from outside things that do not last. When I am tired, when I need strength, when I have a lot to do, or feel stressed, I can run to my vices,

or I can run to Jesus.

He is our glory. He is our strength. He is our source of great hope.

From where I am sitting at work I can look out and see the oldest church in Amsterdam and I can also watch men visit prostitutes in the red light district. The church is empty, the brothels are full.

And yet, as I hear the church bells ringing, and observe the people; each divinely made, deeply loved, and intrinsically searching for meaning, I feel hope stirring in my chest instead of despair.

Not long ago as I stood watching people walk through the district, I had the song, “How great thou art” tumble out under my breathe. There is something about standing in awe of God the creator, whether it is looking out over the mountains, a sunset, or a street full of people, and knowing that he holds everything in His hands.

We don’t need to feel despair when our strength is found in a all knowing, all capable God of the universe.

Let your heart be filled with great hope today. God is the God of righteousness, justice, love and faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

