Goosebumps and butterflies and things that get me out of bed in the morning…

Yesterday morning I lay in bed curled under my covers, warm and cosy, and pressing snooze for the third time on my alarm. No part of me wanting to leave the warmth of my bed…

And then a realisation came to mind so suddenly it was like it was a jolt ready to propel me out of bed and into the world.

The realisation?

We are doing something that has never been done before.

I don’t know about you,  but I just got butterflies and goosebumps and a huge lump in my throat.

Hey reader, hey you supporter of not for sale, or me, or both.

We are doing what has never been done before and if you are part of this journey, you are a part of changing the world.

(Side note): Three years ago someone told me not to say that we are going to change the world because very few people have actually changed the whole wide world. For a while I agreed with him. But now I think that it’s stupid to not say it, if it helps me get out of bed in the morning. And while, yes I aim to change the world, I will still celebrate each and every individual whose life I touch in even the smallest way.

(Back on Track) Back to goosebumps and butterflies and things that get me out of bed in the morning…

Right now we are changing the face of the modern abolition movement. We are developing a project in the red light district in Amsterdam that has quite literally not happened before. I don’t tell you this in an arrogant, ‘we’re so clever’ way, but more like in an ‘oh sh*t, are we really doing this? Because if it works, its going to be amazing’ sort of way.

In the last few years words have crept into my vocabulary  that represent some pretty big ideas.

To be honest, when I first started saying them, I had no idea what they really meant: “Innovative, sustainable, replicable, solutions to end modern-slavery and create new futures for survivors of human trafficking.”

This morning as I thought about work and all that we are doing in Amsterdam will entail, I realized the truth of we are are doing when we say these big words.

Think for a second about the meanings: Innovative + sustainable + replicable = solution = new futures… equalling lives changed.

So as we plan our project in Amsterdam, on the outside one could say, “It’s not so original, it’s just skills training, and that’s been done before…” But the truth is not like this it hasn’t, not here, not the way we are doing it.

And what if it works? What if it is really replicable? What is the potential for changing lives, not just in Amsterdam, but around the world?

My mum said to me on the phone this week “Maybe you are so young, you have no idea what you can’t do, and so what others think is impossible you go out and you just do it.” I take that as a compliment. I may not know what can’t be done, but I can dream of all that can.

Can I do something that’s never been done before? Maybe not alone, but don’t tell me that it’s impossible or I may just take you up on that challenge (haha).

But even more than me; can we, the collective movement of abolitionist, get our butts out of bed, willing to take this movement seriously, taking steps to design innovative, replicable, sustainable solutions that will create new futures for survivors of slavery. Why yes big, long sentence, that says way too much, we can.

Could these ideas (if they work) help propel the movement to end slavery to a whole never level? Yep. Does that have the potential to change the world? Yep.

We are doing what has never been done before, and I am so excited about it, I can hardly get 

myself into bed at night, let alone stay in bed all morning!

– Abolitionists, what motivates you? I wanna know.

– Read more about the idea of ending modern slavery on our NFS fellows blog – GREAT BIG IDEAS being explored…

http://notforsalefellows.wordpress.com/

Read more about the Amsterdam project here

Comments
4 Responses to “Goosebumps and butterflies and things that get me out of bed in the morning…”
  1. Jan Carver says:

    ASKING THE TOUGH QUESTIONS…
    http://ellerslie.com/BHT-Asking_the_Tough_Questions.html
    BRAVEHEARTED THOTS

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of the fact that what we were doing here in Amsterdam was something totally different to anything that had been done before with regards to addressing human trafficking and exploitation. But still the doubts […]

  2. […] week we completed our the pilot of HOME soup, (see here and here for more information), during which we sold a lot of soup, like 973 soups to be […]

  3. […] On February 10th I wrote a blog post called “Goosebumps and butterflies and things that get me out of bed in the morning.”   […]



Leave a Reply

  • Categories

